hsg logo white

Leadership and Governance

The Huntington Study Group (“HSG”) is a not-for-profit, mission-driven parent organization with a wholly owned subsidiary, HSG Clinical Research, Inc. (“HSGCR”), which conducts clinical trials as a clinical research organization (“CRO”). HSG and HSGCR are incorporated under the laws of the State of New York.

Board of Directors

HSG has two self-perpetuating Boards of Directors – one for HSG and one for its wholly owned subsidiary, HSGCR. The Boards are currently mirror Boards, which means the members on each Board are the same individuals.

The HSG’s Boards have fiduciary duties and are responsible for establishing the organization’s identity and direction, ensuring sustainability, providing oversight, and reviewing policies according to HSG and HSGCR’s Bylaws.

HSG & HSG Clinical Research, Inc.  Board Members

Peter Schmidt, PhD

Board Chair

Senior Vice President, Government Partnerships: Rho, Inc.

William Hoh

Board Vice Chair

Managing Director of M&A and Strategic Advisory Services: H.C. Wainwright

Joni Steinman

Board Treasurer

Senior Consultant/Life Sciences, Strategic Interests, LLC

Shari Kinel, JD

Board Secretary

CEO, Huntington Study Group

Arvind Sreedharan

Board Member

Senior Vice President, Business Operations: Neurogene

The Board has two committees: the Audit Committee and the Compensation Committee. To learn more about the Board Committees, click here.

Executive Membership Committee

HSG’s Executive Membership Committee (“EMC”) consists of a diverse combination of elected and appointed individuals who meet specific criteria and govern according to a Board-approved Charter.

The primary purposes of the EMC are to provide leadership, guidance, and advice on the mission-driven strategies and initiatives of the HSG, and to assist HSG staff with planning the programming of the Annual Meeting. The EMC represents the interests of the HSG global network of members, sites, families, sponsors, and the broader Huntington’s disease community on behalf of the HSG.

The EMC also oversees HSG’s Committees of the Corporation, which are governed according to Charters and Working Groups, which function according to Guidelines. Learn more about our Committees and Working Groups, including current Chairs, projects, and how to get involved.

Samuel Frank, MD

Co-Chair, HSG Executive Membership Committee

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Sandra Kostyk, MD, PhD

Co-Chair, HSG Executive Membership Committee

The Ohio State University

Stephen Aradi, MD

Appointed HSG Investigator Chair, HSG Site & Member Development Committee

University of South Florida

Jee Bang, MD, MPH

Elected HSG Investigator Chair, HSG Provider Education Committee

Johns Hopkins University

Zsa Zsa Brown

Appointed HSG Coordinator Liaison, HSG Working Groups

Northwestern University

E.J. Garner

Appointed HD Community Member

Clement Loy, PhD, MBA

Appointed HSG Investigator
Chair, HSG Publications Committee

Macquarie University, Australia

Martha Nance, MD

Appointed HSG Investigator
Chair, HSG Family Education Committee

Park Nicollet Health Services, Huntington’s Disease Center of Excellence at Hennepin County Medical Center

Bernard Ravina, MD, MS

Appointed Industry Member

Atlas Venture

Elaine Sperin, LPN, CRC III

Elected HSG Coordinator
Co-Chair, HSG Credentials Committee

Emory University